My life there and afterwards

Speak and write

It’s important to speak against injustice and for humane treatment of each other. If I have any hope that society can grow more humane, than I feel a responsibility to voice my thoughts; against injustice, for empathy and compassion.

I truly do not know if society, or mankind as a species, can evolve into a gentler breed, but I do believe that some of us can. We may always be a minority, but we do exist.

Violence and control, by their nature, are more loud, visible and domineering than love and care, but I believe they are shorter lived. Respect and empathy endure, albeit quietly.

Writing is my form of speaking

I can never know whether my writing will have any affect on others, so my primary reason for writing is to satisfy my own sense of responsibility to take a stand against the injustice of human actions.

Just as I have no satisfaction of justice against CJ, I have no real hopes of personally influencing the American society I find myself in. However, just as I was/am propelled to write and tell my story of life at CJ, I am also drawn to speak out about societal ills, and to express my opinions and hopes of constructive human interactions.

In the History class I am now taking, I am impressed by the stories of resistance to Hitler that I am reading about. Although they did not “succeed” in stopping Hitler’s madness, they are a testimony to the bravery and ethics of those who would not be controlled by his regime. I don’t believe outward success should determine what I do to resist wrong-doing. While their efforts did not give them the success they hoped for, they did create a story and a witness for future generations, those of us who can look back and be enlightened by their efforts. The same is true for us today.

I'd love to hear your thoughts, questions, reactions.

