My life there and afterwards

Focus

There are many, many ways in which we humans hurt each other. The news is full of tragedies and violence as well as political insecurity and fear. It can be very distracting. I am working on finding a balance in my own life. I listen to the news because I want to know what is going on. It can be depressing sometimes because I cannot stop the madness that I see and hear about, so I need to find how I am going to handle those feelings of depression and fear and frustration and sometimes anger. Those feelings that have no practical outlet do me no good and sap my energy and focus. There are things I can do, of course. I have joined an online group, and I go to talks once in a while. I have written my Congresswoman and Congressman to state my views, and these things do make me feel better.

I think it is important not to forget about our daily lives. Or even to not make them less important. Life is lived, after all, in the small things that we do every day.

May all of you find your own healthy balance also.

I'd love to hear your thoughts, questions, reactions.

